We R Equally Open To Sex Appeal

This is the cover for the “male product version” of a 2012 Equal Rights Charity Calendar created by We R Equal, an “organization that advocates for fair treatment and equal opportunities for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.” There is also a “female product version” and 50% of the proceeds from these two fifteen dollar calendars go to a variety of charities promoting marriage equality, anti-bullying, and HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment. Rather vague if you ask me. Their website also states the following about the organization and the calendar:

WE R EQUAL IS COMMITTED TO FOSTERING A WORLD WHERE EQUALITY, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSIVENESS ARE UNIVERSALLY VALUED. THE FULL-COLOR, 8″ X 11″, 13-MONTH CALENDAR FEATURES A VIBRANT AND DIVERSE ARRAY OF LGBT AND ALLY INDIVIDUALS STANDING FOR EQUALITY.

Here are some examples of the “vibrant and diverse array” of individuals featured in the calendar. You tell me how diverse you think it is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one gets me every time! I think someone carved his abs with a knife.

“Augh don’t look at me! I hate photos—I’m hideous!”

This is the only picture that even remotely relates to anything LGBT.

I didn’t see any transgender people. Did you? Funny how they get so little media representation.

I wasn’t able to get my hands on the “female product version” of this calendar, but you can visit the website to click through a few of the photos. They are equally sexy although somewhat less naked (damn it) and there are even fewer visual indications of LGBT relationships.

Personally, I would love to see calendars which advocate for equal rights in a relevant way, without trying to make LGBT people and allies purely sexual beings. What is  your opinion on the blatant use of sex appeal to buy LGBT support? Do you think the money and support created will be worth the further sexualization of LGBT people?

One response to “We R Equally Open To Sex Appeal

  1. I more noticed the lack of ethnic diversity, though I’m more of a Queer Theorist than a feminist…

Share your thoughts!

